Music for the Mass of Christmas Day, 25 December 2011

Music for the Mass of Christmas Day
(Missale Romanum of 1962, 9:30 a.m.)
Prelude: Wie schön leuchtet der Morgenstern (BuxWV 223) (Dietrich Buxtehude, c.1637-1707)
Missa Dies sanctificatus (Giovanni Pierluigi da Palestrina, c.1525-1594)
Gregorian Mass of Christmas Day: Puer natus est
Gradual: Viderunt omnes (Pérotin, fl. c. 1200)
Motet at the Offertory: Puer natus est (William Byrd, c.1540-1623)
Motet at the Communion: Hodie Christus natus est (Palestrina)
Postlude: Final from Symphony No. 1 (Op. 14) (Louis Vierne, 1870-1937)

Music for the Mass of Christmas Day
(Missale Romanum of 1970, 11:30 a.m.)
Hymn: O Come, All Ye Faithful (Adeste Fideles, arr. David Willcocks)
Introit: Puer natus est (plainsong, mode vii)
Missa de Angelis (Vatican Gradual, Mass VIII)
Alleluia: Dies sanctificatus (plainsong, mode ii)
Hymn at the Offertory: Laetabundus [The Christmas Sequence] (plainsong, mode vi)
Hymn at the Offertory: Joy to the World (Antioch)
Communion: Viderunt omnes (plainsong, mode i)
Carol at the Communion: Behold A Simple Tender Babe (New Prince; A. Gregory Murray, 1905-1992)
Hymn: Hark! The Herald Angels Sing (Mendelssohn, arr. Willcocks)
Organ music as above

Comments are closed.