Music for Corpus Christi, 26 June 2011

Music for the Feast of Corpus Christi (external solemnity)
(Missale Romanum of 1962, 9:30 a.m.)
Prelude: Adoro Te (from Livre du Saint Sacrement) (Olivier Messiaen, 1908-1992)
At the aspersion: Asperges me (plainsong, mode vii) [tutti] Introit: Cibavit eos (plainsong, mode ii) [Schola men] Kyrie: Missa Lauda Sion (Giovanni Pierluigi da Palestrina, c.1525-1594) [Schola] Gloria: Missa Lauda Sion (Palestrina) [Schola] Gradual: Oculi omnium (plainsong, mode vii) [Schola men] Alleluia: Caro mea (plainsong, mode vii) [Schola & Choir] Sequence: Lauda Sion (plainsong, mode vii) [tutti, alternating bass & treble] Credo III [tutti] Offertory: Sacerdotes Domini (plainsong, mode iv) [Schola men] Motet at the Offertory: Panis Angelicus (Camille Saint-Saëns, 1835-1921) [Schola & Choir] Sanctus: Missa Lauda Sion (Palestrina) [Schola] Agnus Dei: Missa Lauda Sion (Palestrina) [Schola] Communion: Quotiescumque (plainsong, mode vii) [see sheet] [Schola & Choir] Motet at the Communion: O quam suavis est (William Byrd, 1540-1623) [Schola] Motet at the Communion: Ave Verum Corpus (Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, 1756-1791) [tutti] At the Exposition of the Blessed Sacrament: O Salutaris (Hereford) [tutti] Hymn at the Procession: Pange lingua, with versets of Nicolas de Grigny (1672-1703) [tutti] Hymns at the Procession:
1. Pange lingua gloriosi (plainsong, mode iii)
2. Jesus, My Lord, My God, My All (Sweet Sacrament)
3. Godhead Here In Hiding (Adoro Te Devote)
4. Soul of My Saviour (Anima Christi)
5. O Jesus, We Adore Thee (Fulda melody)
6. Verbum supernum (plainsong, mode viii)
Hymn at Final Benediction: Tantum ergo (French melody) [tutti] Antiphon at Benediction: Adoremus in aeternum (plainsong, mode i) [tutti] Postlude: Rhapsodie Grégorienne [Lauda Sion, Sacris solemniis, Verbum supernum] (Jean Langlais, 1907-1991)

~ The St. Mary’s Schola Cantorum ~
~ The St. Mary’s Choir ~
~ The St. Mary’s Students’ Schola ~

The 11:30 Ordinary Form Mass today will be celebrated in the lower chapel, without music.

Comments are closed.