Category Archives: Music

Music for the Solemnity of Corpus Christi, 10 June 2007

Prelude: Le Banquet Céleste [The Celestial Banquet] (Olivier Messiaen, 1908-1992)

Mass Ordinary: Missa de Angelis (Mass VIII)

Sequence: Lauda Sion (plainchant, mode vii)

Alleluia: Caro mea (plainchant, mode vii)

Hymn at the Offertory: Let All Mortal Flesh Keep Silence (Picardy)

Communion: Hoc corpus (plainchant, mode viii)

Motet at the Communion: Ave Verum Corpus (Edward Elgar, 1857-1934)

At the Procession of the Most Blessed Sacrament: Hymns as in the program

Postlude: Rhapsodie Grégorienne [Lauda Sion, Sacris Solemniis, Verbum Supernum] (Jean Langlais, 1907-1991)

Solemn Vespers and Organ Demonstration, Trinity Sunday, 4:00 p.m.

Please join us for Vespers this Sunday afternoon at 4:00 p.m. to commemorate the great Solemnity of the Most Holy Trinity. The Second Vatican Council asked that the laity join in the praying of the Divine Office, and particularly Vespers, and today affords a splendid opportunity to participate in this beautiful prayer of the Church.

“The Divine Office, because it is the public prayer of the Church, is a source of piety, and nourishment for personal prayer. And therefore priests and all others who take part in the Divine Office are earnestly exhorted in the Lord to attune their minds to their voices when praying it. The better to achieve this, let them take steps to improve their understanding of the liturgy and of the Bible, especially of the psalms.” (Sacrosanctum Concilium, 90)

“Pastors of souls should see to it that the chief hours, especially Vespers, are celebrated in common in church on Sundays and the more solemn feasts. And the laity, too, are encouraged to recite the divine office, either with the priests, or among themselves, or even individually.” (SC, 100)

Following Vespers, at 4:30 p.m., all parishioners are invited to join Organist & Choirmaster David Hughes for an informal lecture/demonstration on the King of Instruments: what it is, its construction, how it works, and how our instrument at St. Mary’s fits into a 2400-year tradition. The program will be interspersed with several short works to demonstrate the range of the organ.

For further information about the St. Mary’s Concert Series, please contact the music office: (203) 866-5546 x115 or

Music for the Solemnity of the Most Holy Trinity, 3 June 2007

Prelude: Rejoice with us in God the Trinity (J. Wilson)

Mass Ordinary: Missa de Angelis (Mass VIII)

Alleluia: Benedictus es (plainchant, mode viii)

Hymn at the Offertory: I Bind Unto Myself Today (St. Patrick’s Breastplate)

Communion: Benedicimus Deum caeli (plainchant, mode iv)

Motet at the Communion: Laudate nomen Domini (Christopher Tye, c.1505-1572)

Postlude: Fugue in E-flat Major (St. Anne) (BWV 522) (Bach)

Music for Pentecost Sunday, 27 May 2007

Prelude: Versets on Veni Creator: En taille, Fugue a 5 (Nicolas de Grigny, 1672-1703)

Mass Ordinary: Missa de Angelis (Mass VIII)

Alleluia: Veni Sancte Spiritus (plainchant, mode ii)

Sequence: Veni Sancte Spiritus (plainchant, mode i)

Anthem at the Offertory: Let All the World in Every Corner Sing (William Mathias, 1934-1992)

Communion: Factus est repente (plainchant, mode vii)

Hymn at the Communion: Holy Spirit, Ever Dwelling (Herbert Howells, 1892-1983)

Hymn at the Communion: Veni Creator Spiritus (plainchant, mode viii)

Postlude: Versets on Veni Creator: Dialogue sur les Grands Jeux (de Grigny)

Music for the Sixth Sunday of Easter, 20 May 2007

Prelude: Majesté du Christ demandant sa gloire à son Père [The majesty of Christ demanding its glory of the Father] (from L’Ascension, Olivier Messiaen, 1908-1992)

Alleluia: Non vos relinquam orphanos (plainchant, mode i) [I will not leave you orphans; I am going, but I will come back to you, and your hearts will be full of joy.]

Hymn at the Offertory: Hail Thee, Festival Day (Ralph Vaughan Williams, 1872-1958)

Communion: Pater, cum essem (plainchant, mode iv) [Father, when I was amongst them I kept those whom Thou hadst given me, alleluia; but now I am coming to Thee; I do not ask Thee to take them out of the world, but to keep them from evil, alleluia, alleluia.]

Hymn at the Communion: Hallelujah! He Is Risen (Hallelujah! Gott zu loben)

Postlude: Toccata in F Major (BWV 540) (J.S. Bach, 1685-1750)