Music for the Mass of Christmas Day, 25 December 2014

Music for the Mass of Christmas Day
(Missale Romanum of 1962, 9:30 a.m.)
Prelude: Vom Himmel hoch, da komm ich her (BWV 700) (Johann Sebastian Bach, 1685-1750)
Missa Dies sanctificatus (Giovanni Pierluigi da Palestrina, c.1525-1594)
Gregorian Mass of Christmas Day: Puer natus est
Gradual: Viderunt omnes (Pérotin, fl. c. 1200)
Motet at the Offertory: Puer natus est (William Byrd, 1540-1623)
Motet at the Communion: Viderunt omnes (Byrd)
Motet at the Communion: Dies sanctificatus (Palestrina)
Postlude: In dulci jubilo (BWV 729) (Bach)
Postlude: Final from Symphony No. 1 (Louis Vierne, 1870-1937)

The St. Mary’s Schola Cantorum

* * *

Music for the Mass of Christmas Day
(Missale Romanum of 2002, 11:30 a.m.)
Hymn at the Procession: O Come, All Ye Faithful (Adeste Fideles, arr. David Willcocks)
Introit: Puer natus est (plainsong, mode vii)
Missa de Angelis (Vatican Gradual, Mass VIII)
Alleluia: Dies sanctificatus (plainsong, mode ii)
Offertory: Tui sunt caeli (plainsong, mode iv)
Hymn at the Offertory: Laetabundus [The Christmas Sequence] (plainsong, mode vi)
Hymn at the Offertory: Joy to the World (Antioch)
Communion: Viderunt omnes (plainsong, mode i)
Hymn at the Communion: Unto Us Is Born A Son (arr. Willcocks)
Hymn at the Retiring Procession: Hark! The Herald Angels Sing (Mendelssohn, arr. Willcocks)
Organ music as above

The St. Mary’s Choir

Comments are closed.